top of page

If I had to


If I had to fall in love

I would fall softly onto

a pile of mattresses

Fresh from the maker

Just so that I knew that

I was clean pure and enough for you

If I had to fall in love

I would stick out my chest

and walk around like I didn’t

feel the sun on my back

Like happiness let go of me

I would keep it an open secret

If I had to fall in love

I would remember your face

The way that anything tastes when

I saw your face

You would become my favorite

memory attached to anything

that I would need to know

If I had to fall in love

I would invent something new

So that you would become

the best part of everyone’s life too

Just so they could speak your name

with a smile and leave it in history

So make sure I fall in love with you

You don’t need to change

Any part of who you are

Continue to be the best

part of any living thing that I know

Just keep my heart safe

If I had to fall in love

The miracle would be you

And I don’t take miracles lightly.

By Shante Schuler

bottom of page