top of page

To be afraid


To be afraid

If I told you that I could love you and you said that same to me, the words would bring me to a halt and I would stand there frozen until you moved closer to love me authentically. If I told you that I would be there through it all, I don’t mean cheat and think that I would be there. I mean really know that if you got sick, I would take you to the hospital. I would run you bath water and I would hum you a song. Being there through it all does not include cheating. If I said let’s wait before we do this or that, then I like the vibe that your soul gives to me. Your soul, not the words that you say that is written in my favorite song, not the memes from my Facebook page, not the shout-out of some favorite oldie, but the words you use when you say what you mean about how you feel about me. If I write you a poem, I wrote that poem for you. I did not write it for the world to see, I wrote that poem because I felt something special from you and not everyone else. I simply put the words together to let you know that you are what is transcribed and beautiful to me. I have nothing to gain from simply telling you I love you. I have more to gain by showing you and telling you if you are willing to accept and give in return. I don’t want to be played with for your moments, I need my moments of wanting you to be counted as well. If you tell me you love me then I would halt and you would halt and I would stand there frozen until you move closer to me and love me back authentically. 


bottom of page